I’ve had a bit of free time lately. Well about six months of it to be exact.

I took a great trip out west and words really cannot explain the effect it had on me. The space, the beauty and they aren’t lying about how big the sky is! To an east coaster this is a true revelation.

In addition to my trip I decided to dive into some really good books. The first one I took up first was inspired by this trip.

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig.

I feel like at this time in our collective history we could use a little more Zen in our lives. I found this book to be a great way to understand how much simpler and better your state of mind can be with a few changes in how we approach every day tasks.

I want to make this a theme for a few days. Zen for the everyman. I am by no means an expert, but I find it a topic that deserves more than one posts attention.

Below are some of the pictures from my trip. The imagry in that book is very strong and deserves some illustration. I also happened to take a similar route as the main characters, at least up to Montana.

