In a recent issue of Traditional Home I was drawn to the elegance of the home of Loi Thai. As someone who tends to be attracted to bright rich color, like a raccoon to shiny things, it was so wonderful and strange to me that a home with so little color could be so intriguing.

Photographs by Erik Johnson

Photographs by Erik Johnson

I do love how the only really vibrant color is introduced through books. Even the accessories are muted tones and soft golds.

Photographs by Erik Johnson

Photographs by Erik Johnson

It is the subtlety that is so beautiful. I feel like I need to look at each item closely and take my time in this room. It inspires quiet time and thoughtfulness. This kind of simplicity in color creates that same since of peace that I was talking about in a previous post, creating Zen at home.

Loi Thai is clearly a talented designer and it is really cool that he furnished many of these items out of his own antique store in Bethesda, Maryland. Funny enough the name of his shop is Tone on Tone. It seems that he really nows how to live by that design principal. Best of all once I discovered his shop online I was thrilled to brows the beautiful and clean website full of beautiful and intresting pieces.

Tone on Tone

Tone on Tone

Tone on Tone

Tone on Tone

